What Goes On Inside Parked Cars

We leaned closer,
As you tried to pry your Christmas gift out of me.
And my hands moved up your arm
As your eyes began to close.

I’d whisper in her ear,
“‘Surprise’ means I’m not telling you.”
And I’d feel her speaking,
“But I really think you want tooo…”,
(Not at all unconvincingly).

Her breath seems loud
And her heartbeat louder.
The electric fuzz Stands at attention on her arms
As our lips grazed.

And hands wandered,
We forgot where we were.
Forgot all the shoppers
searching the parking lot,
looking in vain for their misplaced cars.
Enclosed in our private palace,
With automatic locks and hand crank windows.

The seconds spawned minutes…
God knows how many.
When we finally stopped
For rest and air,
As we gazed into each others faces,
lost in our rapture,
I could’nt help but say,
“I thought cars only fogged up in movies.”

Leave a comment